Roberta on the Arts
Larry Newcomb Quartet: Live Internationally!
Contact Roberta
Jazz and Cabaret Corner
On Location with Roberta
In the Galleries: Artists and Photographers
Backstage with the Playwrights and Filmmakers
Classical and Cultural Connections
New CDs
Arts and Education
Onstage with the Dancers
Offstage with the Dancers
Upcoming Events
Special Events
Culture from Chicago
Our Sponsors

Larry Newcomb Quartet: Live Internationally!

- CD Reviews

Uncle Mario's

739 Ninth Avenue (50th)
New York, NY 10019

Casual, Italian Cuisine!
Specialty, Brick Oven Pizzas!
Puttanesca and Vegetable Pizzas!
Specialty & Whole Wheat Pastas!
Sausage & Broccoli Rabe!
Mozzarella Caprese!
Chicken Marsala or Francese!
Full Gourmet Catering!

Sun. - Thurs. 10 AM - 12 AM
Fri. - Sat. 10 AM - 1 AM

Larry Newcomb Quartet: Live Internationally!
2015: Essential Messenger Records

Larry Newcomb on Guitar
Eric Olsen on Piano
Dmitri Kolesnik on Bass
Jimmy Madison on Drums

Tom Tedesco, Recording Engineer
Luis Guell, Digital Mastering


Dr. Roberta E. Zlokower
November 14, 2015

This CD is a combination of guitarist, Larry Newcomb’s original compositions (three tracks) and renowned ballads (six tracks), introducing a fantastic, coordinated quartet: Larry on guitar, Eric Olsen on piano, Dmitri Kolesnik on bass, and Jimmy Madison on drums. All four musicians have been favorably reviewed on these pages in various live events and through their recordings. Larry has always brought joy and verve to his guitar performances, and he’s even worked wonders teaching songs to young children, through his exceptional talent and warm personality. Live Internationally! was recorded live at Tom Tedesco’s Studios in New Jersey, so each track is imbued with refreshing immediacy. On this album, Eric Olsen, on piano, Dmitri Kolesnik, on bass, and Jimmy Madison, on drums, are all given generous solo riffs, showcasing their seasoned skill. Larry’s original compositions, “Thanks Jack!”, “Sure Thing”, and “Instant Water”, have mixed tempos, contrasting moods, and melodic, as well as intriguing, edgy phrases.

Notable tracks:

#1 – Be My Love – Composed by Nicolas Brodsky and Sammy Cahn. This first track is tremendously fused, with luxurious solos for Eric Olsen on piano and Dmitri Kolesnik on bass, while Larry Newcomb opens and closes the lush tune. Jimmy Madison, on drums, adds a dash of percussion, especially in the finale. In winding through the memorable theme, Larry holds individual notes on his stunning strings, as if it were a vocal rendition, with poignancy and style.

#3 – Thanks Jack! – Composed by Larry Newcomb. This original tune opens with piano and drums in upbeat fashion, then lots of buoyant, skipping rhythm from a solo bass. The theme is energized and danceable, evoking a modern dance score. Soon the piano twists the theme, with Larry’s up-tempo, guitar lead, some metal drum effects, and the lyrical bass. It’s obvious to the listener that this recording is live, with the element of instrumental serendipity, mid-phrase.

#7 – Au Privave – Composed by Charlie Parker. Eric and Larry are spotlighted on this lively track, for Charlie Parker’s beloved tune, with the piano racing through a dervish, vibrant theme, before handing it to the sparkling, effervescent guitar. During the piano then guitar solos, the accompanying band infuses echoing, springing chords, adding a festive aura in the moment.

#9 – Have You Met Miss Jones? – Composed by Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart. Everyone has featured solos on this final track, with Larry leading the ensemble in a joyful, melodic theme. Eric’s rapid trills, mostly in the high notes, gives the tune compelling energy, while Dmitri’s contrasting, but lower, bass riff brings soulful depth. Jimmy’s percussive solo keeps the bouncing rhythm intact. I recommend buying this album for your winter warmup.

For more information, contact Dr. Roberta E. Zlokower at