Roberta on the Arts
Aimee Allen: Matter of Time
Contact Roberta
Jazz and Cabaret Corner
On Location with Roberta
In the Galleries: Artists and Photographers
Backstage with the Playwrights and Filmmakers
Classical and Cultural Connections
New CDs
Arts and Education
Onstage with the Dancers
Offstage with the Dancers
Upcoming Events
Special Events
Culture from Chicago
Our Sponsors

Aimee Allen: Matter of Time

- CD Reviews

Galaxy Diner
665 Ninth Ave. (46th)

Casual, International Cuisine!
Fresh, Homemade Dishes!
Seafood, Pasta, Kebabs!
Wraps, Salads, Smoothies!
Sun. - Wed. 6 AM - 1 AM
Thurs. - Sat. 24 Hours!
Catering! Open All Holidays !
Prompt Delivery Anytime!
Mention Roberta On The Arts
for a Free Glass of
Wine or Beer with Entree!

Aimée Allen: Matter of Time
2015: Aimee Allen

Aimée Allen, Producer and vocals
Romero Lubambo, guitar
Toru Dodo, piano and Fender Rhodes
Jacob Melchior, drums
Scott Ritchie, bass

Sound engineering, Michael Brorby and Chip Fabrizi
Sound editing, Misha Piatigorsky
Sound mixing, Brian Montgomery
Sound mastering, Sam Minaie


Dr. Roberta E. Zlokower
September 10, 2015

This CD is a lovely collection of thirteen tracks of Aimee Allen’s vocals, with one of Ms. Allen’s French compositions a special highlight. Ms. Allen has a beguiling, quiet presence that adds tonal beauty to her musical ensemble. Romero Lubambo, who has been favorably reviewed on these pages, is featured on guitar on four tracks, with two of those songs discussed below. François Mouton, on bass, Toru Dodo, on piano and Fender Rhodes, Jacob Melchior, on drums, and Scott Ritchie, on bass, complete the highly professional and smooth-sounding ensemble. The tunes are a combination of Ms. Allen’s originals and ballads by Jobim, Ivan Lins, Richard Rodgers, Bernice Petkere, David Allen, Johnny Greene, François Moutin, and Pat Metheny. Lyrics to some of the tunes are generously copied onto the liner notes.

Notable tracks:

#4 – The Island – Composed by I. Lins/A. & M. Bergman. This romantic tune is perfectly in Ms. Allen’s vocal range, with the simplicity of vocals and guitar. Romero Lubambo, a maestro of the Brazilian genre, adds ethereal rapture in chordal and thematic accompaniment. This Ivan Lins tune is presented with languid rhythms and translated, English lyrics.

#7 – Sometimes You Just Know – Composed by A. Allen. Accompanied by Mr. Moutin on bass, Mr. Dodo on piano, and Mr. Melchior on drums, with brief, instrumental riffs amidst Ms. Allen’s original lyrics, the vocalist sings with easy grace. The lyrics, introspective and personal, are magnified by the incandescent piano, earthy bass, and brushed drums.

#9 – Qu’est-ce qu’on est bien ici – Composed by A. Allen. With generous guitar riffs, this track, for vocals and guitar, once again features Mr. Lubambo. Ms. Allen sings her French tune about intimacy and thoughts of loss and destiny with longing and serenity. The uncluttered guitar passages are buoyant and bright, expanding the mood and moment.

#10 – In the Name of Love – Composed by F. Moutin/A. Allen & F. Moutin. Mr. Moutin is featured on his own tune, with a bluesy bass interlude, buoyed by soft piano chords and understated drums. Mr. Dodo adds lush, melancholy harmonies to Ms. Allen’s vocals of wishing and yearning, “She is his song/He is her song”.

For more information, contact Dr. Roberta E. Zlokower at