Roberta on the Arts
Theatermania Presents the 58th Annual Drama Desk Awards at The Town Hall
Contact Roberta
Jazz and Cabaret Corner
On Location with Roberta
In the Galleries: Artists and Photographers
Backstage with the Playwrights and Filmmakers
Classical and Cultural Connections
New CDs
Arts and Education
Onstage with the Dancers
Offstage with the Dancers
Upcoming Events
Special Events
Culture from Chicago
Our Sponsors

Theatermania Presents the 58th Annual Drama Desk Awards at The Town Hall

- Backstage with the Playwrights: Special Events

Salon Ziba

200 West 57th Street
New York, NY
485 6th Ave.(12th St.)
New York, NY 10011
Open seven days a week
Ask for Alonso

The 58th Annual Drama Desk Awards
(Drama Desk Awards Website)
Isa Goldberg, Drama Desk President
Nominating Committee Chairperson, Barbara Siegel

The Town Hall

Executive Producer: Gretchen Shugart
Co-Executive Producers: Robert R. Blume and David S. Stone
Assoc. Producer: Renee McCurry
Producer: Joey Parnes Productions
Bill Rosenfield, Writer
Jack Cummings III, Director
Public Relations; Keith Sherman & Assoc.
Scenic Consultant: Dane Laffrey
Sound Designer: Walter Trarbach
Music Director: Ross Paterson
Production Stage Manager: Tripp Phillips

Dr. Roberta E. Zlokower
May 19, 2013

(Read Reviews of Many of the 2012-2013 Nominated Shows)

(Click Here To See a List of 2013 Drama Desk Nominees and Winners)

The 2013 Drama Desk Awards were once again the culmination of a series of Spring Events, including the announcements of The Drama Desk nominations for 2012-2013, at 54 Below on April 29, 2013, and the Nominees Reception at the JW Marriott Essex House on May 8, 2013. Once again, guests filed directly into The Town Hall, saving celebrations for the Post-Show Party at The Liberty Theater on 42nd Street. Tonight’s entire 58th Annual Drama Desk Awards event was webcast, powered by Livestream, at Tonight’s Hosts were the ensemble members of Old Jews Telling Jokes, who were irreverent and hilarious throughout, keeping the mood upbeat and engaging.

Isa Goldberg, Drama Desk President, greeted the packed crowd and paid tribute to the tireless Nominating Committee and its Chair, Barbara Siegel. Numerous celebrities were seen in the audience (like Tom Hanks and Steve Martin), and many made their way to the stage to entertain, to receive Awards, or both. There were Musical Performances, as well, from four shows: Dogfight (“Pretty Funny”, performed by Lindsay Mendez), Giant (“He Wanted a Girl”, performed by Katie Thompson), Hands on a Hardbody (the Company), Here Lies Love (“God Draws Straight”, performed by Renee Albulario, Joshua Dela Cruz, and Kelvin Moon Loh), and Working (“All the Livelong Day [I Hear America Singing]”, performed by the ensemble). .

Each year, Drama Desk Awards are presented to an Outstanding Ensemble Performance, and this year it went to the cast of Working: A Musical. Also, Special Awards are annually presented, “to recognize excellence and significant contributions to the theater”. This year they were given to The New York Musical Theatre Festival, for ensuring the art form’s future, Wakka Wakka, a sophisticated puppet theater, Jayne Houdyshell, for artistry and versatility, and Samuel D. Hunter, for his show The Whale. Maruti Evans won the Sam Norkin Off-Broadway Award for ingenious lighting design in The Pilo Family Circus and Tiny Dynamite.

As for the 2013 Drama Desk Awards, in 29 different categories, including the newest category for Outstanding Projection Design, Click here for nominees and winners. Outstanding Play went to Christopher Durang, for Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike, Outstanding Revival of a Play to Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, Outstanding Musical to Matilda, Outstanding Revival of a Musical to Pippin, Outstanding Actor in a Play to Tracy Letts, for Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, Outstanding Actress in a Play to Cicely Tyson, for The Trip to Bountiful, Outstanding Actor in a Musical to Billy Porter, for Kinky Boots, and Outstanding Actress in a Musical to Laura Osnes, for Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella.

Kudos to The Drama Desk, and kudos to all the organizers, the nominees, and, of course, the winners.

For more information, contact Dr. Roberta E. Zlokower at