Roberta on the Arts Presents: "The 57th Annual Drama Desk Awards" at Town Hall
Contact Roberta
Jazz and Cabaret Corner
On Location with Roberta
In the Galleries: Artists and Photographers
Backstage with the Playwrights and Filmmakers
Classical and Cultural Connections
New CDs
Arts and Education
Onstage with the Dancers
Offstage with the Dancers
Upcoming Events
Special Events
Our Sponsors Presents: "The 57th Annual Drama Desk Awards" at Town Hall

- Backstage with the Playwrights

The 57th Annual Drama Desk Awards
(Drama Desk Website)
Isa Goldberg, Drama Desk President

The Town Hall

Hosted by
Brooke Shields and Brian D’Arcy James

Executive Producers:, Gretchen Shugart,
Robert R. Blume, David S. Stone
Set Designer: Ray Klausen
Lighting Designer: Miriam Nilofa Crowe
Sound Designer: Matt Berman
Music Director: Michael Rafter
Production Stage Manager: Charles Means
Press: Springer Associates PR,
L.S. Communications
Assoc. Producer: John Issendorf,
Renee McCurry
Producers: Joey Parnes Productions, John Johnson,
S.D. Wagner
Written by Bill Rosenfield
Directed by: Mark Waldrop

Dr. Roberta E. Zlokower
June 3, 2012

(Read Reviews of Many of the 2011-2012 Nominated Shows)

(Click Here To See a List of 2012 Drama Desk Nominees and Winners)

The 2012 Drama Desk Awards were once again the culmination of a series of Spring Events, including the announcements of The Drama Desk nominations for 2011-2012, at Feinstein’s at Loews Regency Hotel on April 27, and the Nominees Reception at Oceana Restaurant on May 8. This year, guests filed directly into The Town Hall, saving celebrations for the Post-Show Party at The Liberty Theater on 42nd Street. Tonight’s entire 57th Annual Drama Desk Awards event was webcast, powered by Livestream, at Tonight’s Hosts were Brooke Shields and Brian D’Arcy James, who were vibrant and humorous throughout, keeping the momentum seamless.

Isa Goldberg, Drama Desk President, greeted the packed crowd and paid tribute to the tireless Nominating Committee, and its Chair, Barbara Siegel. Numerous celebrities were seen in the audience (Bernadette Peters sat nearby), and many made their way to the stage to entertain, to receive Awards, or both. There were Musical Performances, as well, from four shows, beginning with The Devil’s Music: The Life & Blues of Bessie Smith. Miche Braden wowed with “Bad Mood Blues”, and the evening got off to a rollicking start. Other musical numbers were sung by Jessie Mueller, “Too Late Now”, from On a Clear Day You Can See Forever, and Kevin Early, “More & More”, from Death Takes a Holiday. Marin Mazzie and Molly Ranson, from Carrie, sang, respectively, “Carrie” and “There’s No One”.

Each year, Drama Desk Awards are presented to an Outstanding Ensemble Performance, and this year it went to the cast of Sweet and Sad. Also, Special Awards are annually presented, “to recognize excellence and significant contributions to the theater”. This year they were given to Mary Testa, who also appeared in Queen of the Mist, Nick Westrate, for Unnatural Acts, Love’s Labor’s Lost, and Galileo, and to The New Victory Theater, for its children’s theater productions. The new Sam Norkin Off-Broadway Award went to Steven Karam for his role in Sons of the Prophet.

As for the 2012 Drama Desk Awards, in 28 different categories, Click here for nominees and winners. Outstanding Play went to Nina Raine, for Tribes, Outstanding Musical to Once, Outstanding Revival of a Play to Death of a Salesman, Outstanding Revival of a Musical to Follies, Outstanding Actor in a Play to James Corden, for One Man, Two Guvnors, Outstanding Actress in a Play to Tracie Bennett, for End of the Rainbow, Outstanding Actor in a Musical to Danny Burstein, for Follies, and Outstanding Actress in a Musical to Audra McDonald, for The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess.

Kudos to The Drama Desk, and kudos to all the organizers, the nominees, and, of course, the winners.

For more information, contact Dr. Roberta E. Zlokower at